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CONSENT ORDER
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General remarks and official action taken:

The commissioner of workers’ compensation considers whether disciplinary action should
be taken against Fort Bend County.

WAIVER
Fort Bend County acknowledges that the Texas Labor Code and other applicable laws
provide certain rights. Fort Bend County waives all of these rights and any other applicable

procedural rights in consideration of the entry of this consent order.

FINDINGS OF FACT

The commissioner of workers’ compensation makes the following findings of fact:

1. Fort Bend County is a governmental entity that provides workers’ compensation
benefits to its employees pursuant to TEX. LAB. CODE ANN. ch. 504.

2. Fort Bend County was not tiered in the 2007, 2009, 2010, 2012, 2014, or 2016
Performance Based Oversight assessments.

3-16-2018 Original sent to Nicole Mehrens, County Attorney's office
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3. On March 30, 2017, the division initiated DWC Audit No. MBP-17-202 to
determine whether Fort Bend County was complying with the Texas Labor Code
and related rules regarding timely payment of initial medical bills, and the timely
and accurate reporting of medical bill payment information to the division.

4. The audit examined initial medical bills submitted to the division between
December 1, 2016 and February 28, 2017. The division identified 100 bills for
audit. Four bills failed to meet selection criteria and were dropped from the audit
sample. The remaining 96 bills were reviewed to determine Fort Bend County’s
compliance.

5. The audit focused on timeliness of medical bill processing and EDI reporting. The
EDI audit focused on timeliness of reporting the medical bill payment data and the
accuracy of seven data elements (rendering line provider NPI number, rendering
line provider state license number, referring provider last/group name, referring
provider state license number, billing provider FEIN, date bill received, and date
paid or denied).

FAILURE TO TIMELY PAY MEDICAL BILLS

6. Fort Bend County failed to timely process 22% of the initial medical bills within
45 days of receipt (21 out of 96).

7. Specifically, Fort Bend County issued payments to health care providers less than
30 days late in 20 instances; and between 30 and 60 days late in 1 instance.

FAILURE TO SUBMIT TIMELY AND ACCURATE EDI MEDICAL BILL
PAYMENT INFORMATION TO THE DIVISION

8. Fort Bend County failed to timely submit medical bill payment information to the
division in 40% of the bills examined (38 out of 96).

9. Fort Bend County failed to accurately report the Rendering Line Provider State
License Numbers for 4% of the bills examined (4 out of 96).

10. Fort Bend County failed to accurately report the Referring Provider Last/Group
Names for 5% of the bills examined (5 out of 96).

11.  Fort Bend County failed to accurately report the Referring Provider State License
Numbers for 3% of the bills examined (3 out of 96).

12.  Fort Bend County failed to accurately report the Dates of Bill Receipt for 22% of
the bills examined (21 out of 96).
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13.

14.

15.

16.

17.

18.

19.

Fort Bend County failed to accurately report the Dates of Payment or Denial for
16% of the bills examined (15 out of 96).

ASSESSMENT OF PENALTY

The division relies on the medical bill payment information submitted by the
insurance carriers for a variety of purposes, including, but not limited to, providing
required information and reports to the legislature; ensuring that health care
providers and insurance carriers comply with DWC medical policies and fee
guidelines; creating medical fee guidelines, adopting treatment and return-to-work
guidelines; and detecting patterns and practices in medical charges, payments, and
protocols.

Prompt payment of medical bills is imperative to the division’s goal of ensuring
that injured employees have access to prompt, high-quality medical care.

Fort Bend County acknowledges harm to the system and agrees that the penalty
assessed is reasonable.

In assessing the penalty for this case, the commissioner of workers’ compensation
fully considered the factors specified in TEX. LAB. CODE ANN. § 415.021(c),
including as applicable, the seriousness of the violation, including the nature,
circumstances, consequences, extent, and gravity of the prohibited act; the history
and extent of previous administrative violations; the demonstrated good faith of
the violator, including actions taken to rectify the consequences of the prohibited
act; the penalty necessary to deter future violations; and whether the administrative
violation has a negative impact on the delivery of benefits to an injured employee;
the history of compliance with electronic data interchange requirements; and other
matters that justice may require, including any Performance Based Oversight
(PBO) assessments; the promptness and earnestness of actions to prevent future
violations; self-report of the violation; the size of the company or practice; the effect
of a sanction on the availability of health care; and evidence of heightened
awareness of the legal duty to comply with the Act and Division rules; and to the
extent reasonable, the economic benefit resulting from the prohibited act.

Fort Bend County acknowledges that in assessing the penalty, the commissioner
appropriately and fully considered the relevant applicable factors set forth in TEX.
LAB. CODE ANN. § 415.021(c).

Fort Bend County acknowledges that this consent order sufficiently communicates
information about the penalty, including: the relevant statutes or rules violated, the
conduct giving rise to the violations, and the factors considered in determining the
penalty.
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CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

The commissioner of workers’ compensation makes the following conclusions of law:

1.

The commissioner of workers’ compensation has jurisdiction over this matter
pursuant to TEX. LAB. CODE ANN. §§ 402.001, 402.00111, 402.00114, 402.00116,
402.00128, 414.002, 414.003, and 414.004.

The commissioner of workers’ compensation has authority to informally dispose of
this matter as set forth under TEX. GOV'T CODE ANN. § 2001.056, TEX. LAB. CODE
ANN. § 402.00128(b)(7), and 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 180.26(h).

Pursuant to TEX. LAB. CODE ANN. § 415.021, the commissioner of workers’
compensation may assess an administrative penalty against a person who commits
an administrative violation.

Pursuant to TEX. LAB. CODE ANN. § 415.002(a)(20), an insurance carrier or its
representative commits an administrative violation each time it violates a
commissioner’s rule.

Pursuant to TEX. LAB. CODE ANN. § 415.002(a)(22), an insurance carrier or its
representative commits an administrative violation each time it fails to comply with
a provision of the Texas Workers’ Compensation Act.

Pursuant to TEX. LAB. CODE ANN. § 408.027 and 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 133.240,
insurance carriers are required to timely process and take final action on a properly
completed medical bill within 45 days of receipt of the bill.

Fort Bend County violated TEX. LAB. CODE ANN. §§ 415.002(a)(20) and
415.002(a)(22) each time it failed to pay, reduce, deny, or determine to audit a
properly completed medical bill within 45 days of receipt of the bill.

Pursuant to 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 134.804(d), insurance carriers are responsible
for the timely and accurate submission of medical EDI records.

Fort Bend County violated TEX. LAB. CODE ANN. § 415.002(a)(20) each time it
failed to submit accurate medical EDI records to the division.
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ORDER

Fort Bend County is ORDERED to pay an administrative penalty of $30,000 within 30
days from the date of this Order.

The administrative penalty must be paid by company check, cashier’s check, or money
order made payable to the “State of Texas.” Mail the administrative penalty to the Texas
Department of Insurance, Attn: DWC Enforcement, MC 9999, P.O. Box 149104, Austin,
Texas, 78714-9104.

W. Ryan Brannan
Commissioner of Workers’ Compensation

Approved as to Form and Content:

Van B. Moreland
Staff Attorney, DWC Enforcement
Texas Department of Insurance
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AFFIDAVIT
STATE OF TEXAS §

§
COUNTY OF F)RT PEND §

Before me, the undersigned authority, personally appeared the affiant, who being by me
duly sworn, deposed as follows:

“My name is P\Ob@r{ E H@b@("t . Iam of sound mind, capable of making this
statement, and have personal knowledge of these facts which are true and correct.

I hold the office of C ()un'i‘\j Jl&daﬂ , and am the authorized representative
of Fort Bend County. [ am dlly authdrized by said organization to execute this statement.

Fort Bend County waives rights provided by the Texas Labor Code and other applicable
laws, and acknowledges the jurisdiction of the commissioner of workers’ compensation.

Fort Bend County is voluntarily entering into this consent order. Fort Bend County
consents to the issuance and service of this consent order.”

(Lot e

Afflant

N, P Y
SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED before me on! hf),({l,h ’ >, 2018.

(NOTARY SEAL)
! V WYL&&& HK(A/’

Slgnature of Notary Public

\\;:A‘J%gr,, LUISA MARIA BOWERS
g n:Notary Public, State of Texas
4 ,\g\ Comm. Expires 09-07-2020
@oﬂ“'

2 Notary ID 129117105

e

Lugsa. Mada Bowe S
Printed Name of Notary Public

\\\\HII/I/

\\‘éx%.'_"fo

My Commission Expires: CI" /"? -2 020




ATTEST:

Laura Richard, County Clerk






