STATE OF TEXAS B -
§
COUNTY OF FORT BEND §

FIRST AMENDMENT TO AGREEMENT FOR VOCATIONAL CLASSES IN WELDING BETWEEN
WHARTON COUNTY JUNIOR COLLEGE AND FORT BEND COUNTY SHERIFF

THIS FIRST AMENDMENT is made and entered into by and between Fort Bend County
Sheriff, (hereinafter “Sheriff”), a body corporate and politic under the laws of the State of Texas,
and Wharton County Junior College (hereinafter “College”) an institution of higher education.

WITNESSETH

WHEREAS, the parties executed and accepted that certain Agreement for Vocational
Classes in Welding (hereinafter “Agreement”) on or about November 27, 2017, which is attached
hereto and incorporated by reference as if set forth herein verbatim ;and

WHEREAS, the parties desire to amend the Agreement to reduce the total course hours
of the welding program and to reduce the total Maximum compensation amount to reflect the
reduction of course hours.

NOW, THEREFORE, in consideration of the mutual covenants and conditions set forth
below, the parties do mutually agree as follows:

1. The Maximum Compensation for the performance of Services, as described in Scope
of Services, attached hereto as Exhibit “A” and incorporated fully herein for all
purposes, is hereby decreased to one thousand seventy-five dollars and 00/100,
($1,075.00) per student for a Course totaling 192 hours of Welding Classes offered at
the Fort Bend County Jail.

2. College clearly understands and agrees such understanding and agreement being of
the absolute essence of this Agreement, that Sheriff shall have available the total
maximum sum of one thousand seventy-five dollars and 00/100, ($1,075.00) per
student for one full Course totaling 192 hours of Welding Classes offered at the Fort
Bend County Jail specifically allocated to fully discharge any and all liabilities Sheriff
may incur.

3. College does further understand and agree, said understanding and agreement also
being of the absolute essence of this Agreement, that the total maximum
compensation that College may become entitled to and the total maximum sum that
Sheriff may become liable to pay to College shall not under any conditions,
circumstances, or interpretations thereof exceed one thousand seventy-five dollars



and 00/10G, ($1,075.00) per student for one full Course totalmg 192 hours of Welding
Classes offered at the Fort Bend County Jail.

4. In no case shall the amount paid by Sheriff for all Services under the Agreement and
this First Amendment exceed the total Maximum Compensation without written
amendment executed by the parties.

5. Agreement to Not Boycott Israel Chapter 2270 Texas Government Code: By
signature below, Contractor verifies Contractor does not boycott Israel during the
terms of this Agreement.

6. Texas Government Code Section 2251.152 Acknowledgment: By signature below,
Contractor represents pursuant to Section 2252.152 of the Texas Government Code,
that Contractor is not listed on the website of the Comptroller of the State of Texas
concerning the listing of companies that are identified under Section 806.05 1, Section
807.051 or Section 2253.153.

7. Understanding, Fair Construction. By execution of this First Amendment, the parties
acknowledge that they have read and understood each provision, term and obligation
contained in this Amendment. This Amendment, although drawn by one party, shall
be construed fairly and reasonably and not more strictly against the drafting party
than the nondrafting party.

All terms and conditions of the Agreement, including any addenda, not modified herein
shall remain in full force and effect for the term of the Agreement. If there is a conflict
between this First Amendment and the Agreement, the provisions of this executed First
Amendment shall prevail with regard to the conflict.

{Execution Page Follows}

{Remainder Intentionally Left Blank}
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IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the parties hereto have signed or have caused their respective names to

be signed to multiple counterparts to be effective on the day of ,2018.

FORT“B)COW WHARTON COUNTY JUNIOR COLLEGE
M éd@ &L . D297 Coue ; )

Troy E“Nehls Authorized Agent- Signature

Fort Bend County Sheriff

é: ) (1617 AN
Authorized Akent- Printed Name

P\’t%\ clewny

Title

3-/4/46

Date

Recorded by Commissioners Court on:

Date

Laura Richard
Fort Bend County Clerk

Exhibit A: Scope of Services

I\AGREEMENTS\2018 Agreements\Sheriff's Office\Classes\FY 2018-9 First Amendment to Agreement.Welding Education at Jail.doex (LSL)
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EXHIBIT A

Scope of Services —
Welding Program 2018

Related to delivery of Welding Skills courses, hereafter referred to as Course, by Wharton County
Junior College, hereafter referred to as College, to individuals of the Ft..Bend County Jail,
hereafter referred to as the Jail, at the request of the Fort Bend County Sheriff’s Office, hereafter
referred to as Shenﬁ

The effective date of this agreement is January 1, 2018 or date of approval by the Fort Bend
County Commissioner’s Court, deferring to the latter. The expiration date of this agreement is
December 31, 2018.

The College’s Responsibilities

1.

The College will provide Welding Skills Instruction Courses to individuals incarcerated at the
Jail and selected by the Sheriff, or his representatives, to include the following topics: Flux
Cored Arc Welding and Shielded Metal Arc Welding.

Each class topic will be 96 hours in length, four (4) days per week, for three (3) hours each
session, for a total of twelve (12) hours per week. Each Course will take nine and half weeks
to complete. Total contact hours for both Courses is 192 hours.

Course instruction will take place Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday each week
from 9am until 12pm, unless otherwise requested by either the Sheriff or College and
mutually agreed to by both parties.

All Courses are provided at the request of the Sheriff, who also has the right to decline Course
offerings.

The College will provide an instructor, curriculum, and study guide for all Courses. Classroom
instruction will provide competency-based learning according to Course learning outcomes
assigned to individual Courses. Instruction will include assessments and progress grades.
The College requires a minimum of ten (10) students be enrolled in a Course for the Course
to proceed; total enrollment will not exceed twelve (12) students.

At the conclusion of each Course, the College will provide students who have successfully
completed the curriculum a Certificate of Completion to include the Course name, date of
completion, contact hours, and student’s name.

The College will provide a release form for the Sheriff to share with prospective students, to
be signed by all participating students, allowing the College access to personal information as

- well as permission to share student and Course information with the Sheriff.
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10.

11.

12,

13.

14.

Upon completion of a Course the College will bill the Sheriff $1,075 per student for program
tuition, which includes 192 hours of instruction.

The College is responsible for identifying appropriate substitute faculty if the regularly
approved faculty member must be absent from a previously scheduled class time.

The College is responsible for compliance and reporting with the Texas Higher Education
Coordinating Board (THECB) and the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools —
Commission on Colleges (SACS-COC), as well as other agencies and accrediting bodies related
to instruction.

College staff and faculty will attend any professional developmént requested by the Sheriff

relating to security or otherwise.

As an independent contractor of the Sheriff, the College owns all instructional materials
related to Coursework. Any equipment, supplies, or consumables provided by the Sheriff
remain the property of the Sheriff.

At the written request of the Sheriff, the College will provide within 30 days copies of any
information related to individual students of the Courses, including, but not limited to,
registration information, assessments, grades, attendance records, certificates of
completion, etc., as covered by the student signed release form.

The Sheriff's Responsibilities

1.

The Sheriff, or his representatives, will select the students eligible to participate in the
Courses.

Participating students must sign a release form allowing the College to use pertinent personal
information for purposes of Course registration. Personal information required includes full
name, address, date of birth, sex, race, and social security number. Students must also
provide a valid photo ID. The release form will also allow the College to share student and
Course information with the Sheriff, and the Sheriff’s representatives.

The Sheriff will select only participants willing to share pertinent personal information and
will facilitate information collection for the College.

The Sheriff will provide a safe and secure instructional environment, as determined by the
Sheriff and agreed to by the College.

The Sheriff agrees to a tuition rate of $1,075 per student for 192 hours of Course instruction.
The Sheriff agrees to pay tuition for any student who enrolls in the Course, regardless if the
student leaves the program, for any reason, before completion of the Course.
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6. The Sheriff will notify College instructional leadership of any issues related to the classroom
within 24 hours of an event. Issues include a faculty member arriving late, a faculty or staff
member not following Jail protocol, interpersonal communication, etc.

7. The Sheriff will notify College instructional leadership the same day as any student incidents
related to the classroom, courses, faculty, staff, or instruction.
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