July 7, 2017

The Honorable County Judge

Re: Imposition of Optional Fees for Calendar Year 2018

Your Honor:

County commissioners courts are statutorily required to notify the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV) each year regarding the imposition or removal of optional fees. Notice must be made to the TxDMV each year by September 1 with new fees taking effect each year on January 1. This letter and attachments will provide information on how to submit the calendar year 2018 notification to the TxDMV. The following is a brief description of the local optional fees from Chapter 502 of the Transportation Code:

County Road and Bridge Fee (Section 502.401):

- may not exceed \$10;
- fees collected must be credited to the county road and bridge fund.

Child Safety Fee (Section 502.403):

- may not exceed \$1.50;
- revenue must be used for school crossing guard services; remaining funds must be used for programs to enhance child safety, health, or nutrition, including child abuse intervention and prevention and drug and alcohol abuse prevention.

Transportation Project Fee (Section 502.402) applies to Bexar, Cameron, El Paso, Hidalgo, and Webb counties only:

- may not exceed \$10 or \$20 for those meeting population requirements under Section (b) and (b-1);
- revenue must be used for long-term transportation projects.

Please complete the attached form, Imposition of Optional Fees, and return to the TxDMV. If your county will keep the same optional fees for calendar year 2018, select OPTION A. If your county will change fees, select OPTION B, and return the form with a copy of the court order.

Deadline: Please return the form on or before Tuesday, August 29, 2017, by email to: **DMV OptionalCountyFeeUpdates@TxDMV.gov**, or fax to (512) 465-4116.

If you have any questions, please contact David Pyndus, Registration Services, at (512) 465-4049. Thank you for your timely response.

Sincerely,

Jeremiah Kuntz, Director

Vehicle Titles and Registration Division Texas Department of Motor Vehicles

JK:DP

Attachments

cc: County tax assessor-collectors