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August 6, 2013
To: Shirley Fults
From: Leonard Higgins
Subject: Changes'in Juror Program beginning Sept. 1, 2013

On September 01, 2013, Subsections (a-1), (&-2) and (e-3) of Chapter 61 in the Texas Government
Code will expire. This action will cause the Juror Program to revert back to the original legislation
enrolled in Senate Bill 1704, enacted by the 79th Legislature, which c¢hanges the reimbursement rate
for jury service after the second day of service.

e How much will the daily rate be for the first day of service?

As of September 01, 2013, each juror is still entitled to not less than $6 for the first day or
fraction of the first day the person is in attendance in court in response to the process and
discharges the person’s duty for that day. (Section 61.001 (a)(1) of the Texas Government
Code.)

o How much is the daily rate reimbursement after the first day of service?

As of September 01, 2013, each juror is still entitled to not less than $40 for the second day or
fraction of the first day the person is in attendance in court in response to the process and
discharges the person’s duty for that day. (Section 61.001 (a)(2) of the Texas Government
Cade.)

Section 61.0015 (a) of the Texas Government Code requires counties to file a quarterly claim with the
Comptroller’s Judiciary Section for reimbursement of $34 per day for jury service after the first day.

If you have additional questions or need further information concerning the Juror Program, please
contact the Comptroller’s Judiciary Section by e-mail at leonard.higgins(@cpa.state.tx.us or by phone
at 1-800-531-5441, extension 6-6100.

Thank you.



